Michael Feugel

The name Feugl (or Feugel) appears three times quite prominently at the beginning of the industrial manufacture of woodworking tools. For the first time in 1823: The master metal worker Ferdinand Feugel from Vienna received together with Franz Gruber and the clock spring manufacturer Andreas Müller a privilege on the "plating of iron with cast steel".

In 1824 Michael Feugel, metal worker in Vienna No. 63, also received a similar privilege. When the patent expired in 1826, the address was Stein in Lower Austria.

In 1826 an advertisement appeared in the Wiener Zeitung , with which a "Joh. Michael Feugl, privileged cast steel cutting tools manufacturer in Senftenberg near Krems" announced that he had opened a branch at Johann Weiss in Vienna.

A second privilege for Michael Feugel dates from September 4, 1833, expired in 1836. In the description of the expired privilege, Michael Feugel is referred to as master metal worker and tenant of a hammer mill in Neustift near Scheibbs.

In 1837 there was an obituary for the locksmith Michael Feugl from Rodaun, Vienna. It is not possible to prove whether this is the same person.

 

The source situation is not sufficient to say whether the two (or three) Feugels were related, it would not be surprising.

Feugl M Patent 1824.png
Feugl M Patent erloschen 1824.png
Feugl M Patent erloschen 1833.png
Feugl M Patent erloschen Buch 1833.png
Feugl M Tod 1837.png

​© 2023 Hobel Austria, Reinhard Pascher

Impressum / Imprint

Hobel Austria on Facebook:

  • Facebook Social Icon
anno logo.png

Michael Feugel

Der Name Feugl (oder Feugel) taucht am Anfang der industriellen Fertigung von Holzbearbeitungswerkzeugen drei mal recht prominent auf. Zum ersten Mal 1823: Der Schlossermeister Ferdinand Feugel aus Wien Fünfhaus erhält zusammen mit Franz Gruber und dem Uhrfeder-Fabrikanten Andreas Müller ein Privilegium auf die "Plattirung von Eisen mit Gußstahl".

1824 erhält Michael Feugel, Schlossermeister in Wien Nr. 63, ebenfalls ein ähnliches Privilegium. Bei Erlöschen des Patents 1826 lautet die Adresse dann Stein in Niederösterreich.

1826 erscheint in der Wiener Zeitung eine Anzeige, mit der ein "Joh. Michael Feugl, k.k. privil. Gußstahl-Schneide-Waaren-Fabrikant in Senftenberg bey Krems" bekanntgibt, eine Niederlage bei Johann Weiß in Wien eröffnet zu haben.

Ein zweites Privilegium für Michael Feugel datiert vom 4. September 1833, erloschen 1836. In der Beschreibung des erloschenen Privilegiums wird Michael Feugel als Schlossermeister und Hammerpächter zu Neustift bei Scheibbs bezeichnet.

Im Jahre 1837 findet sich eine Todesanzeige des Schlossers Michael Feugl aus Rodaun, Wien. Ob es sich hierbei auch um die selbe Person handelt, ist nicht nachweisbar.

 

Die Quellenlage ist nicht ausreichend um sagen zu können, ob die zwei (oder drei) Feugels verwandt gewesen sind, überraschend wäre es nicht.

Feugl M Patent 1824.png
Feugl M Patent erloschen 1824.png
Feugl M Patent erloschen 1833.png
Feugl M Patent erloschen Buch 1833.png
Feugl M Tod 1837.png

​© 2023 Hobel Austria, Reinhard Pascher

Impressum / Imprint

Hobel Austria auf Facebook:

  • Facebook Social Icon
anno logo.png