Franz Wertheim 1872
Johann Baptist Weiss 1873

Wilhelm Franz Exner got to the point: In 1874, the factories of Wertheim Weiss & Sohn were among the largest tool manufacturers in Europe. And this was made possible above all by the competition of two famous personalities: Franz Freiherr von Wertheim and Johann Baptist Weiss.

Woodworkers made their own tools for centuries, at least as far as the wooden components were concerned, iron and steel parts were contributed by the local blacksmith. This small-scale structure was regulated (and also created) by the guilds. The first specializations in the manufacture of carpentry tools were documented in the 17th century in the Netherlands and England. The era of industrialization began in England in the 18th century.

In Austria it was Franz Gruber who was first mentioned in an address book as a woodworker toolmaker during the monarchy in 1809, he was also the first to begin the industrial production of carpenter tools. The later major manufacturers are closely linked to his name: Johann Weiß sen. learned toolmaking from Franz Gruber in Vienna, Franz Wertheim from Krems took over the factories in Vienna and Scheibbs after the death of Franz's son Anton. Wertheim and Johann B. Weiss then transformed toolmaking to an industry from the 1840's on.

The third big name among manufacturers in Austria is Josef Herrmann. He too had a direct relationship with Gruber: he was a foreman in Gruber's factory for years before he founded his own factory. The great success of the planes from Weiss & Sohn is largely due to Josef Herrmann's plane irons, which his factory manufactured for Weiss for 70 years.

In addition to the big two, there were of course a number of smaller manufacturers of planes and carpentry tools in the Austrian monarchy, such as Christian Weiland, Daniel Ammon and Johann Jiroschek in Vienna. Or Ottokar Skrivan and Johann Horak in Prague, Jakob Weisz in Hungary. And a few more. Some of them were more successful, while others only left names in address books or newspaper reports, sometimes only individual tools.

 

Their stories will also be told here.

​© 2023 Hobel Austria, Reinhard Pascher

Impressum / Imprint

Hobel Austria on Facebook:

  • Facebook Social Icon
anno logo.png

Franz Wertheim 1872
Johann Baptist Weiss 1873

Wilhelm Franz Exner brachte es auf den Punkt: 1874 zählten die Fabriken Wertheim und vor allem Weiss & Sohn zu den größten Werkzeugherstellern Europas. Und möglich war das vor allem durch die Konkurrenz zweier großer Persönlichkeiten: Franz Freiherr von Wertheim und Johann Baptist Weiss.

Holzhandwerker fertigten ihr Werkzeug jahrhundertelang selbst, zumindest was die hölzernen Bestandteile betraf, Eisen- und Stahlteile steuerte der örtliche Schmied bei. Geregelt (und auch verursacht) wurde diese kleinteilige Struktur von den Zünften. Die ersten Spezialisierungen auf die Herstellung von Tischlerwerkzeug sind im 17. Jahrhundert in Holland und England dokumentiert. Im 18. Jahrhundert begann dann ausgehend von England die Epoche der Industrialisierung.

In Österreich war es Franz Gruber, der 1809 als erster in der Monarchie in einem Adressbuch als Tischler-Werkzeugmacher erwähnt wurde, er war auch der Erste, der mit der industriellen Fertigung von Tischlerwerkzeug begann. Mit seinem Namen sind die späteren großen Fabrikanten eng verknüpft: Johann Weiß sen. lernte die Werkzeugmacherei bei Franz Gruber in Wien, der aus Krems stammende Franz Wertheim übernahm nach dem Tod von Franz' Sohn Anton dessen Fabriken in Wien und Scheibbs. Wertheim und Johann B. Weiss formten dann ab den 1840er Jahren aus der Werkzeugmacherei eine Industrie.

Der dritte große Name unter den Fabrikanten in Österreich ist Josef Herrmann. Auch er stand in direkter Beziehung zu Gruber: Er war jahrelang Werkmeister in Grubers Fabrik, bevor er seine eigene Fabrik gründete. Der großartige Erfolg der Hobel der Firma Weiss & Sohn beruht zu einem guten Teil auf den Hobeleisen des Josef Herrmann, die seine Fabrik 70 Jahre lang für Weiss herstellte.

Neben den großen Zwei gab es in der Österreichischen Monarchie natürlich einige kleinere Hersteller von Hobeln und Tischlerwerkzeug wie zum Beispiel Christian Weiland, Daniel Ammon und Johann Jiroschek in Wien. Oder Ottokar Skrivan und Johann Horak in Prag, Jakob Weisz in Ungarn. Und einige mehr. Manche von ihnen hatten größeren Erfolg, von anderen dagegen blieben nur Namen in Adressbüchern oder Zeitungsmeldungen, manchmal gar nur einzelne Werkzeuge übrig.

 

Auch ihre Geschichten werden hier erzählt werden.

​© 2023 Hobel Austria, Reinhard Pascher

Impressum / Imprint

Hobel Austria auf Facebook:

  • Facebook Social Icon
anno logo.png