Christian Weiland

On 28 June 1841, the first newspaper advertisement by the joiner Christian Weiland appeared in the Wiener Zeitung.

 

He recommends himself with all kinds of joinery tools made of well-dried wood and plane irons plated (laminated) with English cast steel. His address is neue Wieden, Wehrgasse 855.

 ​

On January 23, 1854, Weiland received a privilege on an "improvement of the double plane" and another on the "improvement in the production of wood screw cutting tools" for one year. Both were extended for one year in 1855, but in 1856 Weiland let them expire.

Christian Weiland, Anzeige, Wiener Zeitung, 1841
Weiland Privilegien 1854-1856
Weiland Anzeige Wiener Zeitung 1854

In February 1854 he placed some very informative advertisements in the Wiener Zeitung with descriptions of the two privileges. That of the double plane is a little diffuse. In my reading, it is about an adjustable plane mouth with two adjusting screws, similar to the way it was used decades later by Georg Ott (Ulmia) for the “Reformhobel”. Weiss & Sohn and Johann Horak (in Prague) offered almost identical "adjustable double planes" in the 1860s. Since neither Weiss nor Horak registered a privilege on this construction, I assume that it was Weiland's (see also here).

 

The second privilege is a cast-iron cutting tap for wooden threads.

 

In addition, Christian Weiland describes two other inventions of his own, for which, however, there are no corresponding privileges. First of all, an adjustable centre drill, similar to the models already known from England, and secondly he talks about workbenches, which could be combined with foot-driven machines, such as circular saws or miter saws.

 

Weiland also mentions the production of finished mouldings for furniture production, as well as the production of machines for the making of such mouldings.

In May 1856, Christian Weiland acquired another privilege on the production of various joinery tools such as drills, screw clamps, planes and workbench components made of cast steel, which he voluntarily returned in March 1857.

 

Weiland's wife Josefa died on 19 January 1857 at the age of 54.

Christian Weiland Patent 1856
Weiland Josefa Todesanzeige 1857
Weiland Anzeige Fremden-Blatt 1866

A third series of advertisements was published in December 1866 in the Wiener Fremden-Blatt. Rather unusual is the indication of sales prices in a newspaper advertisement.

 

The address has changed due to a renumbering in 1862 to Wehrgasse No. 16, Margarethen.

A rather tragi-comic anecdote occurred in 1869, when the young joiner Christian Weiland (probably the son of the tool manufacturer of the same name) wanted to drown himself because he felt world-weary and lovesick. But he picked out a place where the water wasn’t deep enough and failed miserably. He was placed under surveillance for "signs of insanity." The report appeared in several daily newspapers.

 ​

On July 19, 1879, Christian Weiland died of pneumonia at the age of 69.

Weiland Sohn Morgen Post 1869
Christian Weiland Todesanzeige 1876

​© 2023 Hobel Austria, Reinhard Pascher

Impressum / Imprint

Hobel Austria on Facebook:

  • Facebook Social Icon
anno logo.png

Christian Weiland

Am 28. Juni 1841 erscheint in der Wiener Zeitung die erste Zeitungsanzeige des befugten Tischlers Christian Weiland.

Er empfiehlt sich darin mit allen Arten von Tischlerwerkzeug aus gut getrocknetem Holz und mit englischem Gussstahl aufgelegten Hobeleisen. Seine Adresse lautet neue Wieden, Wehrgasse 855.

Am 23. Jänner 1854 erhält Weiland ein Privilegium auf eine "Verbesserung des Doppelhobels" und ein weiteres auf die "Verbesserung in der Erzeugung von Holzschrauben-Schneidwerkzeugen" auf ein Jahr. Beide werden 1855 für ein Jahr verlängert, 1856 jedoch lässt Weiland sie auslaufen.

Christian Weiland, Anzeige, Wiener Zeitung, 1841
Weiland Privilegien 1854-1856
Weiland Anzeige Wiener Zeitung 1854

Im Februar 1854 schaltet er einige sehr informative Werbeanzeigen in der Wiener Zeitung mit Beschreibungen der beiden Privilegien. Jene der Verbesserung des Doppelhobels ist ein wenig diffus. In meiner Lesart handelt sich dabei um ein mit zwei Stellschrauben verstellbares Hobelmaul, ähnlich der Art wie es Jahrzehnte später von Georg Ott (Ulmia) für den Reformhobel verwendet wurde. Weiss & Sohn und auch Johann Horak (in Prag) bieten in den 1860er Jahren nahezu identische "verstellbare Doppelhobel" an. Da weder Weiss noch Horak ein Privilegium auf diese Konstruktion anmeldeten, gehe ich davon aus, dass es sich dabei um jene von Weiland handelte (siehe auch hier).

Beim zweiten Privilegium handelt es sich um eine gusseiserne Schneidkluppe für Holzgewinde.

Außerdem beschreibt Christian Weiland zwei weitere eigene Erfindungen, für die es allerdings keine entsprechenden Privilegien gibt. Und zwar erstens einen verstellbaren Zentrumsbohrer, ähnlich den schon aus England bekannten Modellen, und zweitens um Hobelbänke, die mit fußgetriebenen Maschinen, etwa Kreissägen oder Gehrungssägen, kombinierbar waren.

Weiters erwähnt Weiland auch die Herstellung von fertigen gekehlten Leisten und Gesimsen für die Möbelherstellung, sowie die Erzeugung von Maschinen zur Herstellung solcher Leisten.

Im Mai 1856 erwirbt Christian Weiland ein weiteres Privilegium, und zwar auf die Herstellung von verschiedenen Tischlerwerkzeugen wie z. B. Bohrer, Schraubzwingen, Hobel und Hobelbankbestandteile aus Gussstahl, das er aber bereits im März 1857 freiwillig zurücklegt.

Weilands Gattin Josefa stirbt am 19. Jänner 1857 im Alter von 54 Jahren.

Christian Weiland Patent 1856
Weiland Josefa Todesanzeige 1857
Weiland Anzeige Fremden-Blatt 1866

Eine dritte Serie von Werbeanzeigen erscheint im Dezember 1866 im Wiener Fremden-Blatt. Eher ungewöhnlich dabei ist die Angabe von Verkaufspreisen in einer Zeitungsanzeige.

Die Adresse hat sich durch eine Neunummerierung 1862 in Wehrgasse Nr. 16, Margarethen, geändert.

Eine eher tragikomische Anekdote ereignete sich im Jahr 1869, als sich der Tischlergeselle Christian Weiland (wahrscheinlich der gleichnamige Sohn des Werkzeugherstellers) wegen "Lebensüberdruß und Liebesgram den Tod geben" wollte, indem er ins Wasser ging, aber an einer Stelle, die nicht tief genug war. Er wurde wegen "Anzeichen von Irrsinn" unter Beobachtung gestellt. Die Meldung erschien in mehreren Tageszeitungen.

Am 19. Juli 1879 starb Christian Weiland im Alter von 69 Jahren an einer Lungenentzündung.

Weiland Sohn Morgen Post 1869
Christian Weiland Todesanzeige 1876

​© 2023 Hobel Austria, Reinhard Pascher

Impressum / Imprint

Hobel Austria auf Facebook:

  • Facebook Social Icon
anno logo.png