Daniel Ammon (1814-1871)
1842 Daniel Ammon Anzeige
1843 Ammon Anzeige Adressänderung
1838 Johann Walz Adressbucheintrag

Daniel Ammon was first mentioned in 1842 in a series of advertisements in the Wiener Zeitung. There he recommends himself as a manufacturer of woodworking tools. His product range is already quite extensive and includes benches, screw clamps and all kinds of planes. His factory is located at 213 Mariahilfer Hauptstraße.
In 1843 Ammon moved to Kaiserstraße No. 4, "zu Georgi", i.e. on 23 April. The newspaper advertisement in question also mentions that his factory had been in existence for several years. This raises the question of how many years are meant by this.
As early as 1838 there was already a factory for carpentry tools at the address Mariahilfer Hauptstraße no. 213, but it did not belong to Daniel Ammon, but to a joiner named Johann Walz. This is shown in an entry in an address book of that year. Ammon can therefore have taken over this factory in 1838 at the earliest, more likely in 1839. Walz is already mentioned in 1834 as a toolmaker and then in 1835 as a manufacturer of joiner's and turner's tools, albeit under different addresses in each case. One can only speculate whether Ammon learned from Walz and then took over the business or bought it after Walz died or went bankrupt.

In any case, he successively expanded his business in the following years and added other areas of business; he did not limit himself to tools for joiners and turners, Ammon also produced tools for wainwrights, coopers and bookbinders made of wood, steel and iron, his plane irons were laminated with cast steel as at Wertheim and Weiss & Sohn. It is not clear from the advertisements whether Ammon produced these irons himself or bought them in.

He also traded in wood and veneer. The extent of his business can also be seen from the "Niederlagen" (today we say branches) where his tools could be bought. He had his own salesroom at Landstraße 140 in Vienna and also consignment stocks at several dealers in Vienna (see address book entries below).

All in all, one can say that he was a serious competitor for Wertheim and Weiss & Sohn, at least in the first half of the 1840s. However, unlike the other two, he apparently did not participate in any trade exhibitions and limited his business only to Vienna.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/8

This competitive relationship is underlined by a comparison of the advertisements of Ammon and Weiss in the Wiener Zeitung in 1842. Between March and December, Daniel Ammon placed a total of 19 advertisements, while Johann Weiss (at that time not yet Weiss & Sohn) placed "only" 16 advertisements in the same period. So it is fair to say that the two manufacturers competed on equal terms (at least in 1842).
In the course of the 1850s, however, Weiss and Wertheim developed into large industrial companies, a leap that Daniel Ammon did not manage.

As far as Ammon's personal history is concerned, it must be mentioned that his son Gustav died in 1849 in his first year "of emaciation" (probably tuberculosis).

1849 Ammon Anzeige Tod Sohn Gustav

In 1861 Daniel Ammon is a member of the provisional committee to found a local group of the Protestant Gustav Adolf Foundation in Gumpendorf. The background to this was the "Protestant Patent" issued by Emperor Franz Joseph in the same year, which for the first time in the Monarchy granted the Protestant Church relatively extensive legal equality with the Catholic Church. Among other things, Protestants were allowed to found their own associations, the first of which was in Gumpendorf.

1861 Ammon Gründung Gumpendorf
1861 Ammon Protokollierung
1861 Ammon Ausgleichsverfahren

On 26 October 1861, the company Daniel Ammon is entered in the commercial register. Only one week later, on 2 November 1861, compensation proceedings are initiated against Daniel Ammon "due to cessation of payments".

However, there is probably no direct connection between these events, because with the introduction of a new trade regulation in 1860, registration in the commercial register became obligatory for companies with simple (formal) factory authorisation.

In 1863, the last entry of the company appears in an address book.
One year later, on 1 December 1864, the composition proceedings of 1861 are discontinued and at the same time bankruptcy is declared against Daniel Ammon.
This means the end of the company in 1865.

1863 Daniel Ammon Adressbuch
1864 Ammon Konkurs

Daniel Ammon choosed his own end ten years later: He hanged himself on 24 November 1875.

1875 Ammon Tod

This plough plane by Daniel Ammon is in the possession of my collector colleague Anton Vierthaler, who brought it back to Vienna from the USA (!). The most striking feature of this plane is a metal inlay on the back of the plane iron bed, which I do not know from any other plane. The iron is not original, it is an English replacement iron.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/14

I am not sure whether this plane from my collection was actually made by Daniel Ammon. It does not bear a maker's stamp to that effect. The main reason for my assumption that this could be an Ammon plane is the metal inlay in the plane iron bed, which I only know from the above plane by Daniel Ammon. Apart from that, there are some differences, especially the wing nuts on the side. Overall, it looks older, it could have been made in the early 1840s. Unfortunately, the iron has no recognisable maker's mark.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/17

Daniel Ammon (1814-1871)
1842 Daniel Ammon Anzeige
1843 Ammon Anzeige Adressänderung
1838 Johann Walz Adressbucheintrag

Erstmals erwähnt wird Daniel Ammon 1842 in einer Serie von Werbeanzeigen in der Wiener Zeitung. Dort empfiehlt er sich als Tischler-Werkzeug-Fabrikant. Seine Produktpalette ist schon recht umfangreich und beeinhaltet Hobelbänke, Schraubzwingen sowie alle Arten Hobel. Seine Fabrik befindet sich in der Mariahilfer Hauptstraße Nr. 213.

1843 übersiedelt Ammon in die Kaiserstraße Nr. 4, und zwar "zu Georgi", also am 23. April. In der betreffenden Zeitungsanzeige wird auch erwähnt, dass seine Fabrik schon mehrere Jahre besteht. Das wirft die Frage auf, wie viele Jahre damit gemeint sind.

Schon 1838 besteht an der Adresse Mariahilfer Hauptstraße Nr. 213 bereits eine Fabrik für Tischlerwerkzeug, sie gehört aber nicht Daniel Ammon, sondern einem Tischler namens Johann Walz. Das geht aus einem Eintrag in einem Adressbuch dieses Jahres hervor. Ammon kann also frühestens 1838, eher 1839 diese Fabrik übernommen haben. Walz wird bereits 1834 als Werkzeugmacher und 1835 dann als Hersteller von Tischler- und Drechslerwerkzeug erwähnt, allerdings unter jeweils anderen Adressen. Man kann nur spekulieren, ob Ammon bei Walz gelernt und dann den Betrieb übernommen oder nach dessen Tod oder einer Insolvenz gekauft hat.

Jedenfalls vergrößert er sein Geschäft in den folgenden Jahren sukzessive und erweitert es um andere Geschäftsfelder; er beschränkt sich nicht nur auf Werkzeuge für Tischler und Drechsler, Ammon erzeugt auch Werkzeuge für Wagner, Binder und Buchbinder aus Holz, Stahl und Eisen, seine Hobeleisen sind wie bei Wertheim und Weiss & Sohn mit Gussstahl belegt. Ober diese Eisen selbst herstellt oder zukauft, geht aus den Anzeigen nicht hervor.

Außerdem handelt er mit Holz bzw. Furnieren. Welche Ausdehnung sein Geschäft erreichte, kann man auch an den "Niederlagen" (heute sagt man Filialen) ablesen, in denen seine Werkzeuge zu kaufen waren. Er hatte ein eigenes Verkaufslokal in Wien Landstraße 140 und zusätzlich Kommissionslager bei einigen Händlern in Wien (siehe untenstehende Adressbucheinträge).

Insgesamt kann man also sagen, dass er, zumindest in der ersten Hälfte der 1840er Jahe, ein ernsthafter Konkurrent für Wertheim und Weiss & Sohn war. Allerdings nahm er anscheinend, im Unterschied zu den beiden anderen, an keinen Gewerbeausstellungen teil und beschränkte seine Geschäfte nur auf Wien.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/8

Unterstrichen wird dieses Konkurrenzverhältnis durch einen Vergleich der Werbeanzeigen von Ammon und Weiss in der Wiener Zeitung des Jahres 1842. Zwischen März und Dezember schaltete Daniel Ammon insgesamt 19, Johann Weiss (damals noch nicht Weiss & Sohn) im selben Zeitraum "nur" 16 Anzeigen. Man kann also durchaus sagen, die beiden Hersteller konkurrierten (zumindest im Jahr 1842) auf Augenhöhe.

Im Laufe der 1850er Jahre jedoch entwickelten sich Weiss und Wertheim zu großen Industriebetrieben, ein Sprung, der Daniel Ammon nicht gelang.

Zu Ammons persönlicher Geschichte muss noch erwähnt werden, dass sein Sohn Gustav 1849 im ersten Lebensjahr "an der Auszehrung" (wahrscheinlich Tuberkulose) verstarb.

1849 Ammon Anzeige Tod Sohn Gustav

1861 ist Daniel Ammon Mitglied des provisorischen Komitees zur Gründung einer Ortsgruppe der evangelischen Gustav-Adolf-Stiftung in Gumpendorf. Hintergrund ist das im selben Jahr von Kaiser Franz Joseph erlassene "Protestantenpatent", das der evangelischen Kirche erstmals in der Monarchie eine relativ weitgehende rechtliche Gleichstellung mit der katholischen gewährte. Unter anderem wird Protestanten auch die Gründung eigener Vereine erlaubt, der erste eben in Gumpendorf.

1861 Ammon Gründung Gumpendorf
1861 Ammon Protokollierung
1861 Ammon Ausgleichsverfahren

Am 26. Oktober 1861 erfolgt die Eintragung der Firma Daniel Ammon ins Handelsregister (die sogenannte "Protokollierung"). Nur eine Woche später, am 2. November 1861, wird über Daniel Ammon "wegen Einstellung der Zahlungen" ein Ausgleichsverfahren eingeleitet.

Zwischen diesen Ereignissen dürfte aber kein direkter Zusammenhang bestehen, denn mit der Einführung einer neuen Gewerbeordnung 1860 wurde die Eintragung ins Handelsregister für Firmen mit einfacher (förmlicher) Fabriksbefugnis verpflichtend.

1863 erscheint der letzte Eintrag der Firma in einem Adressbuch.

Ein Jahr darauf, am 1. Dezember 1864, wird das Ausgleichsverfahren von 1861 eingestellt und gleichzeitig der Konkurs über Daniel Ammon eröffnet.

Das bedeutet das Ende der Firma im Jahr 1865.

1863 Daniel Ammon Adressbuch
1864 Ammon Konkurs

Sein eigenes Ende wählt Daniel Ammon zehn Jahre später selbst: Er erhängt sich am 24. November 1875.

1875 Ammon Tod

Dieser Nuthobel von Daniel Ammon befindet sich im Besitz meines Sammlerkollegen Anton Vierthaler, der ihn aus den USA (!) nach Wien zurückgeholt hat. Das auffälligste Merkmal dieses Hobels ist eine Metalleinlage an der Rückseite des Hobeleisenbettes, die ich sonst von keinem anderen Nuthobel kenne. Das Eisen ist nicht original, es ist ein englisches Ersatzeisen.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/14

Bei diesem Nuthobel aus meiner Sammlung bin ich nicht sicher, ob er tatsächlich von Daniel Ammon stammt. Er trägt keinen diesbezüglichen Herstellerstempel. Der Hauptgrund für meine Annahme, dass es sich hier um einen Ammon-Hobel handeln könnte, ist die Metalleinlage im Hobeleisenbett, die ich eben nur vom obigen Hobel von Daniel Ammon kenne. Ansonsten sind durchaus einige Unterschiede zu erkennen, allen voran die Flügelmuttern an der Seite. Insgesamt wirkt er älter, er könnte Anfang der 1840er Jahre gebaut worden sein. Das Eisen hat leider keine erkennbare Herstellermarke.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/17