Franz Xaver Wertheim was born in Krems on the Danube in early 1814 as the son of a merchant. He died on 3 April 1883 as Baron von Wertheim in his own palace on Schwarzenbergplatz in Vienna. In between lies one of the most enigmatic and breathtaking careers in Austrian industrial history.

Wertheim began as a simple merchant in Krems and, as an industrialist, rose to the rank of noble baron and to the dignity of Imperial Truchsess. He was president of the Lower Austrian Trade Association, vice-president of the Lower Austrian Chamber of Commerce and Trade and a municipal councillor in Vienna, the recipient of numerous domestic and foreign orders and awards. In 1883 he left a fortune of about 5 million guilders (about 70 million euros). This made him one of the richest men in Vienna.

But in order ....

Franz Wertheim Portrait

In most biographies, Wertheim's date of birth is given as 12 April 1814, and this date is also written on his tombstone at the Vienna Central Cemetery. However, a look at the baptismal register of the parish of Krems reveals that this is the date of Franz Xaver Wertheim's baptism. His true date of birth is therefore unknown. It should be noted, however, that it was quite common at that time to equate the date of birth with the date of baptism.

1813 Wertheim Eltern Trauung
1814 Wertheim Taufbuch Krems

His father Franz, a trained tailor, came to Krems around 1812 (probably from Bavaria) and was initially a supervisor at the k.k. Tabak und Stempelamt Krems. In 1813 he married the widow Barbara Albert (née Reitmayer) and acquired a clothes shop in the house at Krems No. 296 (later No. 281, today Untere Landstraße 17). The residential address was the house at Krems No. 208 on Pfarrplatz, where Franz Xaver saw the light of day. The couple had two more children after Franz: Katharina and Karl Magnus, but both died in infancy (1815 and 1817). In 1816 Franz senior was granted citizenship, in the same year he bought a tailor's workshop in Krems.
The marriage register also provides information about Franz Wertheim's grandparents: Michael Wertheim was an iron merchant in Bavaria, his grandmother Elisabeth came from Württemberg. His maternal grandparents were the master miller Matthias Reitmayer from Immenstadt in Bavaria and his wife Franziska.

1907 Krems Ansicht Hof Untere Landstraße
1907 Krems Ansicht Pfarrplatz

Franz Wertheim attended primary school in Krems and then completed a commercial apprenticeship in Vienna. The authors of the various biographies and obituaries disagree about the nature of this education. Opinions range from an apprenticeship in commerce to studies in commerce to attendance at the Imperial and Royal Polytechnic Institute. Some also suspect a locksmith apprenticeship in combination with commercial training.
Considering the rather modest family circumstances, the simple trade apprenticeship is probably the most likely variant. Wertheim's lack of general knowledge, which later provided material for anecdotes, also speaks against a higher education. However, there is no evidence for this.

The formative and decisive period for his development and the foundation for his later career followed after his education in Vienna: Franz Wertheim spent several years on the road in Germany, France and England (perhaps also Italy). Unfortunately, no details have come down to us about his years of wandering. We therefore do not know where and how exactly Wertheim acquired his extensive specialist knowledge, which he later demonstrated. What is certain is that he returned to Krems in 1837/38 as an extremely self-confident and energetic young man.
From his father he received "a stock of Nuremberg goods to open a trading business". And thus began the success story of Franz Wertheim.

1838 Wertheim Geschäftseröffnung
1841 Wertheim Anzeige Kaufmann

"Nuremberg goods" is a collective term for all kinds of arts and crafts, utilitarian and household articles that has its roots in the Middle Ages, when traders from Nuremberg (and Augsburg) dominated long-distance trade in Europe with the products of the manufactories there. Typical articles for such shops were, for example, musical instruments, drawing instruments, measuring instruments, wire products, metal foils, glass mirrors, toys, pencils, paper, knives, needles, nails, pens as well as tools, fittings and other small iron parts.

Franz Wertheim junior opened his shop in 1838 in house no. 314 (in today's "Untere Landstrasse") in Krems. Success was immediate, as Wertheim was mentioned for the first time in a Viennese newspaper in the same year, called "Der Humorist":


"(Wertheim's Nuremberg goods shop) is furnished with such elegance that it could stand on the Graben or Kohlmarkt in Vienna. The proprietor of the same, a young, enterprising man, has brought back from his travels a good taste from London, Paris and Milan, and his efforts are amply rewarded by abundant sales."


Even the first mention of Wertheim hints at a talent that would be essential to his career: Wertheim's sense of presentation (and also self-promotion).
After only a short time, Franz Wertheim was able to expand his business and moved to the Krems town hall, one of the best addresses in the city.


In 1842 the next step was taken.

Franz Xaver Wertheim wurde Anfang 1814 in Krems an der Donau als Sohn eines Kaufmanns geboren. Er starb am 3. April 1883 als Freiherr von Wertheim in seinem eigenen Palais am Schwarzenbergplatz in Wien. Dazwischen liegt eine der schillerndsten und atemberaubendsten Karrieren der österreichischen Industriegeschichte.

Wertheim begann als einfacher Kaufmann in Krems und brachte es als Industrieller bis zum adeligen Freiherrenstand und zur Würde eines kaiserlichen Truchsess, er war Präsident des niederösterreichischen Gewerbevereins, Vizepräsident der niederösterreichischen Handels- und Gewerbekammer und Gemeinderat in Wien, Träger zahlreicher in- und ausländischer Orden und Auszeichnungen. 1883 hinterließ er ein Vermögen von ca. 5 Millionen Gulden (ungefähr 70 Millionen Euro). Damit war er einer der reichsten Männer Wiens.

Aber der Reihe nach ....

Franz Wertheim Portrait

In den meisten Biographien wird Wertheims Geburtsdatum mit dem 12. April 1814 angegeben, auch auf seinem Grabmal am Wiener Zentralfriedhof steht dieses Datum geschrieben. Ein Blick ins Taufbuch der Pfarre Krems enthüllt jedoch, dass es sich dabei um das Taufdatum des Franz Xaver Wertheim handelt. Sein wahres Geburtsdatum ist also unbekannt. Dazu muss man aber anmerken, dass es damals durchaus üblich war, Geburts- und Taufdatum gleichzusetzen.

1813 Wertheim Eltern Trauung
1814 Wertheim Taufbuch Krems

Sein Vater Franz, ein gelernter Schneider, kam um 1812 (wahrscheinlich aus Bayern) nach Krems und war zunächst Aufsichtsbeamter im k.k. Tabak- und Stempelamt Krems. 1813 heiratete er die Witwe Barbara Albert (geb. Reitmayer) und erwarb eine Kleiderhandlung im Haus Krems Nr. 296 (später Nr. 281, heute Untere Landstraße 17). Die Wohnadresse war das Haus Krems Nr. 208 am Pfarrplatz, in dem Franz Xaver das Licht der Welt erblickte. Das Paar bekam nach Franz zwei weitere Kinder: Katharina und Karl Magnus, beide starben jedoch noch im Säuglingsalter (1815 und 1817). 1816 wurde Franz senior das Bürgerrecht verliehen, im selben Jahr kaufte er eine Schneiderwerkstatt in Krems.

Das Trauungsbuch gibt auch Auskunft über Franz Wertheims Großeltern: Michael Wertheim war demzufolge Eisenhändler in Bayern, seine Großmutter Elisabeth stammte aus Württemberg. Seine Großeltern mütterlicherseits waren der Müllermeister Matthias Reitmayer aus Immenstadt in Bayern und dessen Frau Franziska.

1907 Krems Ansicht Hof Untere Landstraße
1907 Krems Ansicht Pfarrplatz

Franz Wertheim besuchte die Volksschule in Krems und machte danach eine kaufmännische Ausbildung in Wien. Welcher Art diese Ausbildung war, darüber sind sich die Autoren der diversen Biografien und Nachrufe uneinig. Die Meinungen reichen von einer Handelslehre über ein Studium der Handelswissenschaften bis zum Besuch des k.k. polytechnischen Institutes. Manche vermuten auch eine Schlosserlehre in Kombination mit einer kaufmännischen Ausbildung.

Zieht man die doch eher bescheidenen Familienverhältnisse in Betracht, dürfte die einfache Handelslehre die wahrscheinlichste Variante sein. Auch Wertheims mangelndes Allgemeinwissen, das später einigen Stoff für Anekdoten lieferte, spricht gegen eine höhere Schulbildung. Belege dafür gibt es allerdings keine.

Die prägende und entscheidende Zeit für seine Entwicklung und die Grundlage für seine spätere Karriere folgte nach der Ausbildung in Wien: Franz Wertheim verbrachte einige Jahre auf Wanderschaft in Deutschland, Frankreich und England (vielleicht auch Italien). Leider sind über seine Wanderjahre keine Einzelheiten überliefert. Wir wissen also nicht, wo und wie genau sich Wertheim sein umfassendes Fachwissen, das er später unter Beweis stellte, angeeignet hat. Fest steht, dass er 1837/38 als äußerst selbstbewusster und tatkräftiger junger Mann nach Krems zurückkehrte.

Von seinem Vater erhielt er "ein Lager von Kurzwaren (Nürnbergerwaren) zur Eröffnung eines Handelsgeschäftes". Und damit beginnt die Erfolgsgeschichte des Franz Wertheim.

1838 Wertheim Geschäftseröffnung
1841 Wertheim Anzeige Kaufmann

"Nürnbergerwaren" ist ein Sammelbegriff für allerlei Kunsthandwerks-, Gebrauchs- und Haushaltsartikel, der seine Wurzeln im Mittelalter hat, als Händler aus Nürnberg (und Augsburg) mit den Erzeugnissen der dortigen Manufakturen den Fernhandel in Europa dominierten. Typische Artikel für solche Geschäfte waren beispielsweise Musikinstrumente, Zeichengeräte, Messinstrumente, Drahterzeugnisse, Metallfolien, Glasspiegel, Spielzeug, Bleistifte, Papier, Messer, Nadeln, Nägel, Stifte sowie Werkzeug, Beschläge und sonstige Kleineisenteile.

Franz Wertheim junior eröffnete sein Geschäft im Jahr 1838 im Haus Nr. 314 (in der heutigen "Unteren Landstrasse") in Krems. Der Erfolg stellt sich umgehend ein, denn noch im selben Jahr wird Wertheim erstmals in einer Wiener Zeitung erwähnt, und zwar im Volksblatt "Der Humorist":

"(Wertheims Nürnberger-Waren-Handlung) ist mit einer solchen Eleganz eingerichtet, daß sie auf dem Graben oder am Kohlmarkte in Wien stehen dürfte. Der Inhaber derselben, ein junger, unternehmender Mann, hat von seinen Reisen einen guten Geschmack aus London, Paris und Mailand zurückgebracht, und seine Bemühungen werden durch reichlichen Absatz reichlich belohnt."

Schon die erste Erwähnung Wertheims deutet auf ein Talent hin, das für seine Karriere von essenzieller Bedeutung sein wird: Wertheims Sinn für Präsentation (und auch Selbstdarstellung).

Schon nach kurzer Zeit konnte Franz Wertheim sein Geschäft vergrößern und übersiedelte ins Rathaus Krems, eine der besten Adressen der Stadt.

1842 erfolgte der nächste Schritt.